Chris Morris: tattoo artist

26 Mar

Everyone has a story. This guest post is by Joanna Bevan who works with Here To Islington. Here she interviews Chris Morris, tattoo artist at the Ohh My God Tattoo studio in Archway. Find out how to contribute a guest post (or nominate a person to be interviewed) on islingtonfacesblog at the bottom of this post.

Chris Morris, tattoo artist, at work with his needle. Find him at Ohh my god tattoo studio, N7.

Chris Morris, tattoo artist, at work with his needle. Find him at Ohh My God Tattoo studio, N7. Photo: Ohh My God Tattoo studio

“We’re about putting fine art on to skin, a group of artists using the medium of tattooing,” explains Chris Morris, 26, the newest member at Ohh My God tattoo studio on Junction Road, N7.  Despite being a basement, the décor of the studio is clean and bright. Each tattooist – Juneid Ghamy, Bartosz Patowski and studio owner Levi Pinter – has decorated their basement cove in their own independent style.

Christmas gift
Until August last year (2013) the heavily tattooed Chris was living in Lampeter, Wales. Indeed it’s only a couple of years since he began to draw. “I was studying Ancient History at the University of Wales, and all my mates had gone home for the Christmas holidays. By that point I’d already had several tattoos and I just got myself a sketch book and started trying to design my own.”

Drawing designs soon took priority over his studies. “I missed a lot of lectures, although I did manage to graduate eventually, despite turning up a day late for my final exam!”

Chris admits he regrets most of the tattoos he had before the age of 21 (essentially the whole of his left arm, foot and leg), because “they were not really thought through”.

Tattoo designed by Chris Morris. This is his blossom design. Every tattoo is bespoke. Prices start from around £50.

Tattoo designed by Chris Morris. This is his blossom design. Every tattoo is bespoke. Prices start from around £50. Photo: Chris Morris.

Since uncovering his artistic flair his own work has significantly developed. “I love using bright colours and cartoons in my designs, my favourite piece to date is a graphical style blossom.”

Despite having reservations about moving from the Welsh countryside Chris feels at home in Islington.

“Living in Islington just feels like living in a town, but the great transport links mean you’re never more than a short bus ride from pretty much anything you could think of to do. People are friendly and welcoming, especially when they know I’m new in town, I was surprised to see how much of an identity Islington has and as a studio we’re now looking to link in more with artists and business networks in the area.”

Chris Morris recommends:
Best after work pint: “That would have to be the Oak and Pastor on Junction Road.”

Islington Artwork: “ I still have a huge fascination with sculpture from my days of studying ancient Greece,and I love the Angel Wings artwork in the N1 Centre Angel

Where do you shop:The Archway/Holloway road triangle seems to sell almost everything, I only need to leave Islington when I want to play the tourist and visit a museum.”

Chris’s top tip for any local residents considering getting a tattoo: “Do your research and take your time, personally out of principle I will never tattoo anything I think someone will live to regret.”

Ohh my god tattoo studio 123 Junction Road, Archway, N19 5PX tel: 020 7272 9373 @OMGTattoo. Website for studio and the owner Levi Pinter here. Facebook link here.

About our guest post writer

This guest post was written by Joanna Bevan (photo taken by Evgenia Kharitonova). Joanna has a background in community development and lives in Archway. She researched community resilience at the City University of New York. She speaks five languages and loves writing poetry and running marathons. "The best thing about living in Islington is the huge amount of world cuisine on offer."

This guest post was written by Joanna Bevan (photo above taken by Evgenia Kharitonova). Joanna has a background in community development and lives in Archway. She researched community resilience at the City University of New York. She speaks five languages and loves writing poetry and running marathons. “The best thing about living in Islington is the huge amount of world cuisine on offer.” Thanks to Here To Islington for linking islingtonfacesblog with Joanna Bevan.

Over to you
Would you like to nominate someone to be interviewed? Or would you like to write a guest post for this blog? if the answer is yes for either please email nicolabaird.green@gmail.com

If you’d like to feature on this blog, or make a suggestion about anyone who grew up, lives or works in Islington please let me know, via nicolabaird.green@gmail.com. Thank you. 

If you liked this interview please SHARE on twitter or Facebook. Even better follow islingtonfacesblog.com (see menu top right), @nicolabairduk

This blog is inspired by Spitalfields Life written by the Gentle Author.

If you enjoyed this post you might like to look at the A-Z  index, or the A-Z of jobs to find friends, neighbours and inspiration. Thanks for stopping by. Nicola

One Response to “Chris Morris: tattoo artist”

  1. toyssoldiier October 6, 2014 at 11:29 am #

    I really enjoy the post, I will have to check out more of Chris Morris tattoo work.. thanks allot derek at http://www.shadedtattoos.com/

So, what do you think?

