Tara Button: buy me once campaigner

9 Sep

Everyone has a story. Tara Button wants MPs to bring in a simple law that stops companies making products built to break – and she’s asking us to help her by signing a 38 Degrees petition that got 8,000 signatures within a fortnight of its launch.  Can she get 100,000 to help throw away our throwaway culture? Interview by Nicola Baird

“I really want more environmental views in Parliament,” says Tara Button who has set up a super-popular petition calling for built in obsolescence to be ended, an idea already operating in France.

“I really want more environmental views in Parliament,” says Tara Button who has set up a super-popular petition calling for built in obsolescence to be ended, an idea already operating in France.

“I tried really hard not to do this idea. It’s completely away from what I normally do – write children’s books and advertising copy. My friends think of me as a geek tweeting about Harry Potter and Game of Thrones,” she adds. They clearly didn’t realise Tara Button was a self-confessed “sucker for petitions.” They do now.

NEVER MISS AN ISLINGTON FACES: if you enjoy reading about people who live or work in Islington please follow this blog by email (see how on right hand panel). Fresh interviews are published once a week. 

“I was searching for an electrical appliance and it got me thinking about what lasts, then I saw a Guardian article that the French had passed a bill about obsolescence. It seemed to me such a simple idea because people can make decent choices if they know how long a product is going to last,” says Tara. After that every time I saw anything about the environment I’d get itchy inside. I’d think I’ve got this idea about finding appliances that lasts and maybe my idea would help.” It was clear she couldn’t do nothing, so she set up a petition which would:

1) Aid consumer choice by enabling proper comparison for the first time, (by providing cost and predicted lifetime).

2) Prevent companies building shoddy products built to break.

3) See less products made… and less going to landfill.

4) Mean that manufacturers can move away from their perpetual price war and compete on quality again.

5) Help poorer family out of a cycle of poverty where they are forced to perpetually buy and replace broken appliances.

Still her idea wouldn’t go away.

If you choose products with a lifetime guarantee you only need to go shopping once. Tara Button has identified a few #buymeonce products including a Davek umbrella; Tweezerman tweezers; pans from Le Creuset and the For Life range of Dr Martins boots and shoes. See more ideas at buymeonce.com

If you choose products with a lifetime guarantee you only need to go shopping once. Tara Button has identified a few #buymeonce products including a Davek umbrella; Tweezerman tweezers; pans from Le Creuset and the For Life range of Dr Martens boots and shoes. See more ideas at buymeonce.com

Initially Tara, 33, considered running a website-store stocking products with lifetime guarantees. But she says, “I couldn’t think how to make money from it or how to avoid the headache of getting a warehouse or drop shipping.” So she decided to keep her day job but go ahead creating the buymeonce.com website and pack it with info about where to find kettles, pans, shoes, furniture that are built to last.

Tara, who was born in Hong Kong, is a friendly Holloway resident. She’s full of energy – working full time at Islington-based Krow on Goswell Road, running a children’s writing group two evenings a week (often at Angel) and also finishing a sci-fi book for 10-12-year-olds about a very spoilt alien who gets a human pet.

Even so she’s been stunned by the way the petition to stop greedy companies making products that break took off on 38Degrees.

 “From the 80 people I knew that I shared it with on a Saturday it started getting a life of its own – there were 1,500 signatures by Sunday. I kept refreshing and every 15 minutes another 50 people had signed it. It was so exciting, though it’s calmed down now,” says Tara. On the day of this islington faces interview the signatories were up to a massive 8,000.
“Yes I feel I’ve done something really great,” she says with a grin, and “it outstripped my expectations, but then I got new ones! I think 15,000 signatories could make the difference but 100,000 definitely will.”
Nag's Head market.

Nag’s Head market. Tara Button’s cat spent three days on the roof because no one would help her get it down. “I was in the Islington Tribune,” she says. Luckily her cat was eventually rescued.

Places Tara Button likes in Islington

  • When I’m not trying to save the world I run a book writers’ social club. It’s a children’s writing group with about 140 members. We meet twice a week, often at Candid Café. I set it up on Meet Up. We sit in silence for two hours and then are allowed to talk and eat cake – it’s a way to create an office for writers.
  • I try really hard not to eat cup cakes, but… I buy the ingredients from Morrisons as it’s very close. Occasionally if I need gluten free ingredients or something extra healthy then I get it from Waitrose on Holloway Road. I’m also excited about the new organic shop just by the Coronet (Wetherspoon pub) at 338-346 Holloway Road.
  • 20150804_163038

    Hollywood Bistro on Holloway Road.

    I often walk through the Nag’s Head and use the stalls for reheeling shoes and key cutting. Once I lost my cat, Prim, on top of the market roof and for days couldn’t get her down.

  • My boyfriend and I are suckers for the £10 meals from M&S on Holloway Road. We also have a favourite greasy spoon, the Hollywood Bistro. We also like the Front Room on Tollington Park Road, N4.
  • I was commissioned to write a children’s book, with the working title of Wishing for Normal for Body & Soul, the children and family HIV charity by Sadler’s Wells. It does wonderful counselling and support.
  • I went to Filthy’s, 274 Holloway Road for my birthday which sells cocktails in jam jars.

Instead of enjoying the summer Tara has been studying the small print of what we buy. “It’s become my life,” she says. “I spend a lot of my time tracking through the T&Cs (terms and conditions) and if it is not clear then I call up. It’s a bit random: I now know far too much about screwdrivers – but I don’t like shopping so I am excited about only having to buy things once.”

As Tara reveals on the new website buymeonce.com – which her employer has offered to help with – there are already products that really do last years, from shoes to umbrellas. So if you need to buy something then do take the time to have a look at the website.  It’s great that Islington has been the birthplace of such a useful resource. Thank you Tara, and good luck making our MPs create a really useful labelling law.

Over to you

If you’d like to nominate someone to be interviewed who grew up, lives or works in Islington, or suggest yourself, please let me know, via nicolabaird.green at gmail.com. Thank you.

If you liked this interview please SHARE on twitter or Facebook or join the Facebook group. Even better follow islingtonfacesblog.com (see menu top right) or follow me on twitter @nicolabairduk

This blog is inspired by Spitalfields Life written by the Gentle Author.

If you enjoyed this post you might like to look at the A-Z  index, or search by interviewee’s roles or Meet Islingtonians to find friends, neighbours and inspiration. Thanks for stopping by. Nicola

 

 

So, what do you think?

